Testing Those Two Ingredient Pancakes: Three Ways

Healthy Two Ingredient Pancakes

This morning I did not want eggs. I wanted something sweet and bready so I decided to re-make one of those popular Pinterest recipes that are popping up everywhere. The infamous two-ingredient pancake. I’ve made them once before and you have to go in expecting more of a thin crepe texture and less of a fluffy pancake texture. I also found that the 2 egg:1 banana ingredient list was a little off for my taste- it was a bit more banana flavored than I wanted and a little too chewy.

This time I reduced the banana amount to half and it worked out much better. I also made a batch with ground oats (home made oat flour, I guess) and those were a little heartier. And, I made a batch with some PB2 because… peanut butter and banana – come on! I used the leftover banana half as a topping and drizzled with honey. Click below for the updated recipe and options.

“Two Ingredient” Pancakes: Three Ways


Servings: 4 | Serving Size: 1 Large-ish Pancake| Calories: 50
*Nutrition info via: MyFitnessPal

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 Banana (medium sized)
  • 2 Eggs

Optional Additions:
1. 1/2 Tbsp PB2 (Calories: 2.75 per pancake)
2. 1/2 Cup Oats for Oat Flour (Calories: 47.4 per pancake)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Cut banana into workable pieces. (I just ripped mine a few times with my hands)
  2. Combine banana and eggs until they have a batter like consistency. (food processor is great for this part)
  3. Heat pan to medium heat with zero-calorie cooking spray.
  4. Pour small amount of batter into the pan.
  5. Flip when batter starts to form small bubbles and it can easily can be lifted with a spatula.
    1. When using PB2 combine well. You may need to add some water if it gets too thick
    2. When using oats, pulse in food processor creating a fine powder. Then add remaining ingredients.

These are really great with a quick fruit syrup (4 parts fruit: 2 parts sweetener: 1 part water – stir and simmer until reduced) or topped with greek yogurt, honey, and fruit. I also want to try them topped with this 60-Seccond Chia Seed Jam from Going Home to Roost.

~Rachel

Leave a Reply

