Powdered Peanut Butter – Yuck or Yay?

PB2 (1)

A friend of mine who is a personal trainer got me interested in PB2. Let me start by saying that, for me, PB2 is not a substitute for your PB&J sandwich. It lacks the nutritional value of regular nut butters and just doesn’t taste as good on it’s own. But, it has been a great way to get peanut butter flavor in recipes without as many fats and calories. I’ve been playing around with it for about a month now and I think I’ve figured out how to best incorporate it in my cooking. I have used it in Thai Peanut Sauce, Chicken and Shrimp Satay, smoothies, cookies, and now fruit dip. PB2 is not very cheap at stores, so I would definitely recommend buying in bulk on Amazon if you decide you like it.

Nut Butter Comparison

Today, craving a mid-afternoon snack, I came upon this recipe for a Peanut Butter Fruit Dip. As written the recipe is a little plain, especially since I subbed PB2 and plain greek yogurt. To jazz it up I added a sprinkle of Truvia and chia seeds then drizzled with honey. It turned out to be a delicious, easy dip to get that sweet, peanut butter fix I was craving. Perfect paired really well with my apple slices.

Peanut Butter Fruit Dip


Servings: 4 | Serving Size: 1/4 Cup| Calories: 43 (488) | Fats: 6 (35)
*Nutrition info via: MyFitnessPal

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Cup Non-Fat Greek Yogurt
  • 1/4 Cup PB2 (sub 1/2 Cup of natural peanut butter, nutrition adjustments in red)
  • 1/2 Tbsp Truvia (you can add more or less depending on your sweet tooth. Taste as you go.)
  • 1 Tbsp Chia Seeds (optional as they add 70 calories, but also nutrient packed)
  • Drizzle of Honey

DIRECTIONS

  1. Stir PB2 into yogurt well.
  2. Stir in Truvia and chia seeds.
  3. Drizzle with honey
  4. Serve with fruit or graham crackers.
Leave a Reply

