Egg White Cups for Today and Tomorrow

Egg Cups || EdibleHTX

I love eggs. From my head down to my legs, I love eggs.

That’s actually not true, but it popped in my head when I started this post. Then I started looking for where that came from and found this. Not quite what I was looking for, but who can resist a dancing egg cartoon song?

Truth is, I only like eggs and rarely crave eggs, but the boy loves eggs. A few weekends ago we drove around for an hour looking for a place that was open for brunch, didn’t have a wait, served alcohol, and had a good old American breakfast plate. Turns out that doesn’t exist before 11am on the weekends. This means I am now cooking and eating more and more of them. He could eat a fried egg with whole wheat toast for breakfast daily, but I cannot. So I have to find new, faster ways to get them done in the mornings. Ala: egg white cups two ways–


Avocado Egg White Cup  || EdibleHTX

Avocado Egg White Cups


Servings: 12 | Serving Size: 1 Egg White Cup | Calories: 42 | Protein: 7g | Sodium: 140g
*Nutrition info via: MyFitnessPal

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Large Egg White (or 3 Tbsp liquid egg whites)
  • 1 Large Avocado (halved, pitted)
  • 2 tsp Garlic Powde
  • Pico or Hot Sauce to top
  • Salt and Pepper as desired
DIRECTIONS
  1. Preheat oven to 400F
  2. Flip muffin tin upside down and spray the bottom half with cooking spray. This is how I ensured the avocado wouldn’t tilt in the oven… not sure if it’s necessary.
  3. Scoop out half the meat of each avocado half to make the area of the pit hole larger.
  4. Stir garlic powder into egg whites
  5. Pour egg white mixture into avocado halves, leaving a little room
  6. Spray Muffin Tin with Cooking Spray. (I use zero-calorie coconut oil spray)
  7. Fill cups 1/2-1/3 full.
  8. Cook for 15-20 minutes depending on your oven

Egg White Cups || EdibleHTX

Egg White Cups


Servings: 12 | Serving Size: 1 Egg White Cup | Calories: 41 | Sodium: 101g | Protein: 7g
*Nutrition info via: MyFitnessPal

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 Cups Liquid Egg Whites
  • 1/2 Cup Almond Milk* (I use Unsweetened Almond Breeze 30 cal it saves lots of calories. Milk Comparisons)
  • 1/2 Cup Raw Baby Spinach (shredded)
  • 1/4 Red Bell Pepper (diced)
  • 1/4 Cup Red Onion (diced)
  • 1/2 Tbsp Garlic Powder
  • Salt and Pepper as desired
DIRECTIONS
  1. Preheat oven to 350F
  2. Combine ingredients in large bowl.
  3. Spray Muffin Tin with Cooking Spray. (I use zero-calorie coconut oil spray)
  4. Fill cups about 1/2-1/3 full.
  5. Cook for 15-20 minutes depending on your oven.

You can really throw anything into the egg white cups. They’re also very freezer friendly and last about 3-4 days in the fridge. I also recently came across a recipe that did egg cups baked on top of a sweet potato crust… I’ll have to check pinterest to find the poster, but brilliant! I am definitely going to try that out next week and report back.

~Rachel

Leave a Reply

